Sport Recognition Awards

These are biennial awards which recognize and celebrate the coach developers, coaches, officials, and sport volunteers who impact the sport system in Alberta in 4 distinct award categories:

Coach Developer Recognition Awards acknowledge the tremendous impact NCCP Multi-Sport and Sport Learning Facilitators / Evaluators have on the Alberta sport delivery system. The awards recognize and celebrate the significant achievement in developing Alberta’s coaches. The Don Watts Coach Developer award recognizes NCCP Multi-Sport Learning Facilitators / Evaluators. The Coach Developer – Sport award recognizes NCCP Sport Learning Facilitators / Evaluators. Since the program began in 2013, 6 coach developers have been recognized.

Coaching Recognition Awards recognize coaches for their successful and outstanding achievements in developing Alberta’s amateur athletes.  Since the program began in 1987, 78 coaches have been recognized.

Officiating Recognition Awards recognize officials for their successful and outstanding achievements in officiating sport that involve Alberta’s amateur athletes. Since the program began in 1992, 53 officials have been recognized.

Sport Volunteer Recognition Awards recognize and honour the significant contributions of individuals who devote their volunteer time and effort to the development of sport. Since the program began in 1987, 96 sport volunteers have been recognized.

2019 Sport Recognition Awards

Susan Yackulic  Don Watts Award  Multi Sport  Edmonton
Jacqueline Cool Coach Developer Award Swimming Calgary
Trevor Prichard Coaching Award Football Grande Prairie
Chris Buchanan Coaching Award Soccer Edmonton
Colin Twitchell Coaching Award Hockey Vegerville
David Johnson Coaching Award Swimming Calgary
Patti Clarkson Officiating Award Swimming Calgary
Sheri Wilson Officiating Award Artistic Gymnastics Calgary
Sheila O’Kelly Sport Volunteer Award Triathlon Edmonton
Vern Loughlean Sport Volunteer Award Hockey/Baseball Innisfail
Wilson Acton Sport Volunteer Award KidSport Calgary
Gordon MacKenzie Sport Volunteer Award Adaptive Alpine Skiing & Snowboard Red Deer


For more information contact:

Julie Hurd

Consultant, Sport Development
Business: 780-427-5132

More information on Athlete and Team of the Year Awards

Nomination Forms

The 2019 awards nomination process will open in late, 2018

ASC recognizes our best amateur athletes, teams, coaches, officials & volunteers

2017 Sport Recognition Award winners:

Don Watts Coach Developer 
Mr. Jim Loughlin – Multi-sport – Medicine Hat
Coach Developer – Sport
Ms. Kelly Wills – Gymnastics – Grande Prairie
Mr. Paul Ragusa – Wrestling – Calgary
Mr. Graeme Moffat – Rugby – Calgary
Mr. Peter Schori – Swimming – Lethbridge
Mr. Richard Boruta – Biathlon – Canmore
Ms. Caroline Henley – Biathlon – Calgary
Ms. Jodi Abbott – Figure Skating – Edmonton
Mr. Mikhail Dykman – Water Polo – Calgary
Mr. Blair Dunbar – Cross Country Skiing – Canmore
Sport Volunteer
Mr. Allan Sattin – Judo – Calgary
Ms. Sandy Hermiston – Cerebral Palsy Sport – Edmonton
Mr. Doug Jones – Baseball – Oyen
Ms. Marilyn Chidlow – Figure Skating – Ponoka