Athlete and Team of the Year Awards

These awards recognize and celebrate the significant achievements, performances and contributions of Alberta’s amateur teams and athletes.  The award winners are outstanding role models who inspire other Albertans to higher achievements at the recreational or competitive level.

Categories include Junior Male, Junior Female, and Junior Team for nominees under 21 years of age; and Open Male, Open Female, and Open Team for all nominees 21 years of age and over.


These awards are open to Alberta athletes and teams that meet the following criteria:

  • Athlete’s primary residence must be in Alberta, or the majority of the team’s athletes must reside in Alberta.  Athletes, or teams with athletes, who live temporarily in other locations for education or training purposes and are products of the Alberta sport development system are eligible for nomination. A significant portion (at least 5 years) of the athlete’s or team’s sport development shall have occurred in Alberta;
  • The nominee must have represented Canada internationally in the previous calendar year (2017). In the Team categories, the team must have represented Alberta or Canada nationally or internationally in the previous calendar year (2017).

Award Recipients 2017

The following athletes and teams are recognized as the 2017 Award Recipients

Open Female Kaetlyn Osmond Figure Skating Edmonton
Open Male Justin Kripps Bobsleigh Calgary
Junior Female Megan Bankes Biathlon Canmore
Junior Male Alphonso Davies Soccer Edmonton
Open Team Victoria SC Women’s Soccer Edmonton
Junior Team Team Alberta Midget Box Lacrosse Various

Recipients will be presented with their awards June 1, 2018, in conjunction with the 2018 Alberta Sport Hall of Fame and Museum Induction Ceremony in Red Deer. More information can be found at

Contact Information

Steven Patrick

Consultant, High Performance Sport
Alberta Sport Connection
Suite 500
10055 106 Street
Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1G3
P: 780-644-4897
F: 780-415-0308

More information on Athlete and Team of the Year Awards

Nomination Forms

Nominations are now closed. Watch this space for information on the 2017 Athlete and Team of the Year Recipients


ASC recognizes our best amateur athletes, teams, coaches, officials & volunteers

2016 Athletes and Teams of the Year:

Ms. Erica Wiebe  – Open Female  – Wrestling – Calgary
Mr. Alister McQueen  – Open Male  – Para Athletics Javelin – Calgary
Ms. Rebecca Smith  – Junior Female  – Swimming – Red Deer
Mr. Stefan Ritter – Junior Male  – Track Cycling – Edmonton
Canadian Men’s Relay Team – Open Team – Biathlon – Canmore
Mr. Christian Gow; Mr. Scott Gow; Mr. Brendan Green; Mr. Nathan Smith;
Calgary Foothills 02 Girls –  Junior Team – Soccer – Calgary
Ms. Aliya Abdallah; Ms. Ruth Adekugbe; Ms. Jayden Berg; Ms. Ally Campbell; Ms. Katie French; Ms. Kassidy Gordon; Ms. Jade Kao; Ms. Olivia Kranjcec; Ms. Jenna Lileikis; Ms. Penny Molloy; Ms. Grace Moore; Ms. Robyn Sellars; Ms. Holly Stiel; Ms. Grace Stordy; Ms. Layla Tarraf; Ms. Fran Tartamella; Mr. Jonathan Wheeldon (coach); Mr. Lee Tucker (coach); Mr. Elijah Adekugbe (coach)