The short track speed skating events began Sunday at the Gary W. Harris Canada Games Centre with the 1500m and 500m distances for both men and women.

Team Alberta fared well with four women – Victoria Goplin, Cezara Bere, Caitlin Pelkey and Hee Won Son – and three men – Matej Pederson, Brendan Yamada and Neithan Thomas – all qualifying to the next round in the 1500m. Two Alberta skaters have been relegated to the repêchage round.

In the 500m, athletes moved on to the next round of competition. Pelkey, Son, Goplen and Bera all advanced to the next round in the women’s event. In the men’s category of the event, Yamada, Mathias Bathe, and Matej Pederson advance to the final rounds.

Short track speed skating activities resume tomorrow with the 1500m finals and the team relay for both genders.