Arctic Winter Games

About The Games

The Arctic Winter Games is an international sport festival bringing together athletes from the Northwest Territories, Yukon, Nunavut, Alaska, Greenland, Russia, Nunavik, Northern Alberta and the indigenous people (Sami) of Norway and Finland.

Team Alberta North

The concept of the Arctic Winter Games was developed as a direct result of the experiences of Northern athletes at the 1967 Canada Winter Games.

Representatives of the Yukon and Northwest Territories realized that their teams were at disadvantage due to relatively small athletic pools, lack of facilities and infrequent training opportunities. Therefore, the concept of an event specifically designed for northern athletes was born.

The first Games were staged in 1970 in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, and have taken place every two years since, alternating among participating jurisdictions. Team Alberta North joined the Arctic Winter Games in 1986, and we hosted for the first time 1994 in Slave Lake.

 

Team Alberta North: 2016

Team Albera North headed to Nuuk, Greenland for the 2016 Arctic Winter Games March 5-12, 2016.

BE AN ATHLETE WITH TEAM ALBERTA NORTH

Interested in participating in the 2020 Arctic Winter Games as an athlete?  Each Provincial Sport Organization identifies one person that lives North of the 55th parallel to act as a Sport Coordinator that oversees team selection.  See the list below to find out who to contact if you would like to participate!

Sport Sport Coordinator Sport Email  Team Size
Alpine Skiing Ms. Wendy Nairn Alpine Skiing cwnairn@telusplanet.net 12
Arctic Sports Mr. Tim Horsman Arctic Sports tim.horsman@albertahealthservices.ca 18
Badminton Ms. Kathie Harrop Badminton Kathie.Harrop@atcoelectric.com 10
Biathlon- Ski Mr. Michael Morgan Biathlon vgorgan@telusplanet.net 6
Cross Country Mr. Grant Bouree Cross Country grant.bourree@weyerhaeuser.com 15
Culture Ms. Barb Mah Culture barb.mah@gov.ab.ca 5
Curling Mr. Dan Kleinschroth Curling dklein@telusplanet.net 10
Dene Games Mr. Eoghan Curran Dene Games Eoghan.Curran@gov.ab.ca 18
Figure Skating Ms. Adele Bonetti Figure Skating concetto@telusplanet.net 10
Gymnastics Ms. Katie Watson Gymnastics katie@grandeprairiegymnastics.com 5
Hockey Mr. David Brown Hockey dbrown@hockeyalberta.ca 38
Indoor Soccer Mr. Chris Spaidal Indoor Soccer chrisgpsa@telus.net 20
Snowboarding Beryl Larson Snowboarding wyco1@telus.net 10
Snowshoeing Mr. Sean McConnell Snowboarding smcconnell@hpsd48.ab.ca 10
Speed Skating Ms. Jamie Schoorlemmer Speed Skating speedsk8fam@gmail.com 10
Male Volleyball Mr. Leigh Goldie Volleyball lgoldie@gprc.ab.ca 11
Wrestling Mr. Robert Thomson Wrestling 780-841-9182 14

 

2012 Downloads

 Results and Participation

AWG Logo

Team Alberta North Past Results

Thousands of athletes, coaches and managers have been members of Team Alberta North

 

2010

2008

2006

 

 

   

 For more information, contact:

Jerry George
Team Alberta North, Chef de Mission
Alberta Sport Connection
500 HSBC Building
10055 106 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1G3
Phone: 780-415-9714
Fax: 780-415-0308
Email: jerry.george@albertasport.ca